[Answer ID: 15114]
LinkStation 400 - Supported RAID Arrays
: RAID mode by default
|•||If you change the RAID mode, all data on the array is deleted. Always back up any important data before performing actions that affect your RAID.|
|•||After the RAID mode is changed (except when creating a RAID 0 array or JBOD), the LinkStation performs a RAID check that will take about 10 hours per TB. File transfers are slower during this period. While the message "RAID I17 ARRAYx Resyncing" is displayed on NAS Navigator2, do not turn off the LinkStation. If you do, the RAID check starts over.|
Combines 2 drives into a mirrored array. The available space in the array is the capacity of a single drive. Identical data is written to each drive. If a drive is damaged, data can be recovered by replacing the damaged drive. As long as one drive in the array remains undamaged, all data in the array can be recovered.
Combines 2 hard drives into a single array. The usable disk space is the total space of all drives used. This simple RAID mode offers faster performance than RAID modes that include parity. If a single drive in the array fails, then all data in the array is lost.
This mode uses the hard drives inside the LinkStation as individual drives. The disk space you can use is the total capacity of all drives in the LinkStation. If any drive is damaged, then the data on that drive is lost.