[Answer ID: 14498]

TeraStation 5000 - How can the set-up parameters be saved or retrieved?

Created 07/30/2012 11:45  |   Updated 07/26/2013 11:49

The product set-up can be saved in a USB memory, which is used for a set-up recovery for another TeraStation.
It can be used for a set-up, back-up as well as for applying the same set-up to a newly purchased TeraStation.

Write down the hard drive configuration for saving set-up (the number of hard drives, RAID, LVM etc.) prior to recovery.
The same hard drive configuration as that at the time of saving set-up is to be applied for set-up recovery.
The recovery may fail in case of different hard drive configuration.

Save set-up

 

  1. Click [Management], followed by Image  next to [Restore/Erase].

  2. Prepare a USB memory and connect it to the product.

    - All the USB devices except this USB memory must be disconnected.
    - Do NOT connect the USB memory to the USB3.0 port.
    - The volume of the USB memory must be above 1GB.
    - All data in the USB memory will be deleted. Take a back-up if needed.
  3. Follow the procedure below when the set-up items for a recovery USB disk appear.

    1) Click [Create a special USB drive for password recovery].
    2) Select the USB memory connected to the USB2.0 port of the product from [Target USB drive].
    3) Click [Execute].


    END

 

Set-up recovery

The function of saving and recovering the set-up with this product is applicable only to TeraStation 5000 series.
An automatic firmware update takes place, making the firmware version of the product be identical with that used in the TeraStation to which the set-up was saved.


Set-up recovery through Set-up Menu during operation】

  1. Connect the USB memory with saved set-up to the USB2.0 port of the product.

    - Disconnect all USB devices except the USB memory.
    - Do NOT connect the USB memory to the USB3.0 port.
  2. Click [Management] in the set-up menu, followed by Image  next to [Restore/Erase].

  3. Follow the procedure below when the set-up items for a recovery USB disk appear.

    1) Click [Transfer settings from a USB drive].
    2) Select the USB memory connected to the USB2.0 port of the product from [Target USB drive].
    3) Click [Execute].


    END


【Recovery by turning rear BOOT switch】


Power off the product beforehand.
In case a recovery takes place when the product starts, only the product to which the set-up has been saved allows a recovery.

  1. Connect the USB memory with saved set-up to the USB2.0 port of the product.

    - Disconnect all USB devices except the USB memory.
    - Do NOT connect the USB memory to the USB3.0 port.
  2. Turn the rear BOOT switch to [USB].
  3. Start the product by pressing the power button.
  4. Upon the LCD message "Recovery I41 PushFuncToStart", press the function button.
  5. The set-up recovery starts, followed by an automatic shutdown after completion.
  6. The LCD message "Recovery I39 Change Boot" appears after shutdown.
  7. Turn the rear BOOT switch to [HDD] and disconnect the USB memory.
    Perform this action definitely.
  8. Start the product by pressing the power button.

    END


Details


Products

OS / Hardware

Was this answer helpful?
Please tell us how we can make this answer more useful.

Refine your search

Select Product / OS & Hardware

      Enter Keywords or a specified ID